

IRENE NEWS

4 December 2023

No 49 - 2023



ACHIEVEMENTS

Congratulations to the following members who were on the podium at the BDS race on Saturday:

Elsa Meyer 1st GGM lady walker – 21 km Letha Kotze 1st GGM lady walker – 10 km

THIS WEEK'S DIARY

- * Morning runs- Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursdays at Midstream Mugg & Bean and Eco Park Virgin Active @ 5H00.
- * Tuesday Time Trial Irene Clubhouse, please let's start together @ 17H30.
- * Wednesday afternoon LSD Run & Walk from Centurion Theatre in Amkor Road, Lyttelton. Start @ 17H30 10 to 15km. We will run together in groups.
- * **Thursday** Irene Christmas Light Run @ 18H00. Charity Run towards the SPCA, Jan Cilliers Park, Wenning Str, Groenkloof.
- * **Sunday** Social Run & Walk @ 6H30. Echt Coffee in Pierre van Ryneveld, Pierre van Ryneveld Road, 5/10/15km

Johan (Fires): 081 851 3864

Nelius: 072 248 7698

COMMUNICATION

In an effort to ensure that all the Irene members are kept up to date with events and specific club items, there are various mechanisms that are used. If you are not currently part of either of them and would like to be, please could you send a WhatsApp to either Wynand, Rose or Maggie to assist you.

- Weekly newsletter Please remember to share your successes with Wynand, so that we can celebrate these with you.
- Irene Notification WhatsApp and Telegram Group This has limited access and only club updates will be shared.

- Irene Training WhatsApp Group This is an open group, but we encourage members to limit feedback on this and only share running related items.
- Irene Walkers WhatsApp Group.
- Irene Comrades WhatsApp Group.
- Irene Facebook page With details of events.

LIGHTS RUN



YEAR END FUNCTION

Congratulations to all our trophy and certificate winners. It was a great function!

Members who were not present at the function can collect their certificates at the club house on Tuesdays 17:00-19:00.

0	Trophy & Gold certificate	Silver certificate	Bronze certificate
Best Supporter	Anneri le Roux		
Most Injured Athlete of the year	Lynette September		
Bloeier van die Jaar (Blood Buddie)	Lynette September		
Socialiser of the Year (Drinkbroer)	Karin Sack		
Friendliest Member	Ann Eckard		
Belinda's Bell (Best attitude & Loyalty)	Lynette Gough		
Best Time Trials Attendance	Johan Janse van Vuuren		
10 Km Championships			
Ladies	Rosemary Brink	Thea van Helden	Jessica Simmonds
Men	Nelius van Rooyen	Ferdi Boshoff	Noel Banda
Ladies Walkers	Sandra Steenkamp	Elsa Meyer	Retha Knoetze
Men Walkers	Jaap Willemse	Danie Labuschagne	
21 km Championships			
Ladies	Rosemary Brink	Ansie Breytenbach	Jessica Simmonds
Men	Prieur du Plessis	Johan Snyman	Mthokoziz Mambi
Ladies Walkers	Elsa Meyer		
Men Walkers	Keith Reynolds		
Beyond Comrades Athletes			
Ladies			
Men	Holger Hedelt		
Most Improved Athlete			
Ladies	Melani Swart		
Men	David Holliday		
Rookie of the Year	Theuns Nieuwoudt		
Golden Shoe - Ladies	Miemie Nel		
Golden Shoe - Men	Dirk Neethling		
Female walker of the year	Elsa Meyer	Sandra Steenkamp	Retha Knoetze
Male walker of the year	Jaap Willemse	Keith Reynolds	Dirk Neethling
Ultra Walker of the year			
GGM of the year			
Ladies	Elsa Meyer	Annatjie Greyvenstein	Marie van Dyk
Men	Dirk Neethling	John Ellmore	Mike Gibbons
GM of the year			

Ladies	Sandra Steenkamp	Retha Knoetze	Lynette Gough
Men	Jaap Willemse	Victor Phetoe	Danie Labuschagne
Master of the year			
Ladies	Ansie Breytenbach	Blanche van Vuuren	Tania Thompson
Men	Keith Reynolds	Noel Banda	Martin Struwig
Veteran of the year			
Ladies	Rosemary Brink	Melani Swart	Freda Hillocks
Men	Johan Snyman	Bheki Ndlovu	Samuel Molefe
Senior of the year			
Ladies	Jessica Simmonds	Yolandi van den Berg	Francisca Rossouw
Men	Nelius van Rooyen	David Holliday	Lenin Sithole
Athlete of the year			
Ladies	Ansie Breytenbach	Rosemary Brink	Sandra Steenkamp
Men	Keith Reynolds	Noel Banda	Nelius van Rooyen
Achiever of the year	Samuel Molefe		
Chairman's Trophy	Danie Labuschagne		

SUMMER CHALLENGE

Congratulations to the winners of the Summer Challenge:

Melani Swart – Participation Anneri le Roux – Most improved Riaan & Renette Prinsloo – ambassadors Special prize to Suzanne Casey

PERSONALIA

Congratulations to the following members who celebrate their birthdays during the week:

John	May	05-Dec
Miles	Saxby	06-Dec
David	Holliday	07-Dec
Denice	Grobler	07-Dec
Michelle	van Dyk	08-Dec
Debby	Mhura	09-Dec
Christa	Visagie	09-Dec
Paul	Nel	09-Dec

THOUGHT FOR THE WEEK

When in a relationship, a real man doesn't make his woman jealous of others, he makes others jealous of his woman.











48th running of the PwC George Claassen Memorial Road Race Saturday 20 January 2024



Start times:

21.1km/10km run/wal 5km fun run Hace ver

.30am

Cut-off times

Cut-off time for the 21.1km at the entrance to Pick n Pay Hyper (9.7km) at 7.30am

Cut-off time at 10am

Pick n Pay Hyper, Faerie Glen Atterbury Rd.

Pick n Pay Hyper, Faerie Glen cnr Atterbury Rd. and Selikats Causeway, Faerie Glen, Pretoria

Online entries: www.entryninja.com Race results: results.finishtime.co.za



Saturday, 3 February, 2024 at 06h00 Castle Gate Shopping Centre













PHOTO CORNER



Members relaxing at the year-end function



Well done to Joy Dekker who organised a great function



It was great to have Andy Crawshay-Hall with us in his new motorised wheelchair



Anneri le Roux – best supporter



Karin Sack received the trophy for he best socialiser, what a girl!



Lynette Gough – Belinda's Bell for the best attitude and loyalty



Johan van Vuuren did the most time trials during the year



Melani Swart – most improved female athlete. Watch her next year!



Maggie van Rooyen, our admin manager for the past 4 years with Marinda van der Walt, her successor



Elsa Meyer, female walker of the year



Jaap Willemse, male walker of the year



Ansie Breytenbach, female athlete of the year



Keith Reynolds, male athlete of the year



Danie Labuschagne was the receiver of the prestigious Chairman's trophy



Gathering for the Charity run



It was a fantastic turnout



Taking a break



Running through Irene is very special